Join us Saturday, May 11 at the RBC Convention Centre to celebrate the medical profession, to honour the 2024 Doctors Manitoba Award Winners, and to recognize the dedication of all of Manitoba’s physicians. This is an excellent opportunity to connect with colleagues from across the province. We will see our incoming President, Dr. Randy Guzman, receive the chains of office and offer his inaugural remarks.

Reception 5pm | Dinner & Awards Program 6:30pm

View the evening’s menu below.

Celebrate this year’s honourees, who include the following courageous and committed physicians:

Physician of the Year - During his time leading family medicine, Dr. José François has laid the foundation to turnaround the family doctor shortage in Manitoba. He has championed expansions for family physician training, better support for international medical graduates, targeted initiatives for rural, northern and francophone training, and he supported new models of care and remuneration for longitudinal family practice, among several other important achievements.

Distinguished Service- Dr. Stephen Kowalskis dedicated attention to the care of patients in anesthesia and critical care, clinical research, education and administration have contributed to the lives of those here in Manitoba and beyond. In a career spanning four decades, his keen intellect has been a constant, matched with his dedication to supporting others along the way.

Dr. Jack Armstrong Humanitarian Award (posthumous)- Dr. Dick Smith was a groundbreaking physician who led the way in both the treatment of HIV/AIDS in Manitoba and the compassionate care for members of the 2SLGBTQIA+ community. He founded the first clinics specializing in their care and was an outspoken voice and hero to those he helped throughout his 52-year career.

Resident of the Year — As a Public Health Preventive Medicine resident, Dr. Luo is dedicated to improving the health of populations by building bridges between the worlds of acute care, community medicine, and public health. She holds a Master of Public Health from Harvard and has advised Ministries of Health internationally on national strategy for strengthening chronic disease care. She is a passionate advocate having worked to represent the needs and voices of others and access to health for all on the world’s stage.

Medal of Excellence — Dr. Sara Goulets career is about breaking down the barriers that prevent Indigenous people from receiving the care they deserve, and leading the way for those who can provide it. A family physician and advisor for Ongomiizwin Health Services, she is a force for building new systems that create better outcomes for everyone involved.

Medal of Excellence — Dr. Kristel van Inevelds contributions to interdisciplinary geriatric care and education have been influential across Canada, resulting in informed and compassionate care for older patients. In her roles as an administrator, researcher, and advocate, she helps navigate systems with an unmatched understanding of how they work now and their potential for the future.

Medal of Excellence — Dr. Helen Pymar is a valued educator and mentor to medical and physician assistant, nurse practitioners, midwives, family medicine, international medical graduates, and Obstetrician Gynecologist learners. She is a proponent of free access to contraception, safe and accessible abortion care and best practices for early pregnancy complications, providing a voice for Manitobans throughout her 20-year career.

Read the full bios about each award winner and their accomplishments here.

This year’s Gala will recognize the Rainbow Resource Centre and Our Own Health Centre as the charity of choice on behalf of our Humanitarian of the Year Dr. John Richard (Dick) Smith.