Last night, hundreds of physicians gathered virtually to recognize seven inspirational physicians from across Manitoba who have received this year’s Doctors Manitoba Awards.

Doctors Manitoba is proud to recognize the outstanding contributions of these seven individuals dedicated to advancing medicine and improving care for their patients,” said Dr. Cory Baillie, President of Doctors Manitoba. The 2020 award winners were selected before the pandemic, and their commitment and achievements are a source of inspiration for all physicians as we find our way through this crisis.”

The seven physicians honoured this year include:

  • Dr. Ken von Kuster as Physician of the Year. Dr. Kuster is an anatomical pathologist based at Victoria Hospital. He took the initiative to sub-specialize in dermatopathology to fill a critical void in Manitoba. He is also an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology at the University of Manitoba. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Sabina Ijaz with the Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Ijaz works in the Pine Falls community and is recognized for her unique contributions with and for Indigenous communities, as well as her contributions to a culturally safe and holistic practice of medicine. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Ricardo Lobato de Faria with the Health Administration Award. As an innovator in emergency medicine, Dr. Lobato de Faria is recognized for his nearly two decades of leadership at Seven Oaks General Hospital and the improvements to patient care that were realized during his tenure. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Heather Lehmann with the Health or Safety Promotion Award. Based in Winkler at the CW Wiebe Medical Centre, Dr. Lehmann has taken on many projects, notably using her expertise and passion for women’s and reproductive health to develop a much-needed teen clinic as part of her family medicine practice. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Yoav Keynan with the Scholastic Award. As a clinical scientist, Dr. Keynan holds several academic appointments, including as an Associate Professor in the Department of Medical Microbiology. He is a widely-published researcher with world-renowned expertise in infectious diseases, such as HIV and influenza. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Clare Whitehead as Resident of the Year. Dr. Whitehead exemplifies the characteristics of a successful resident: strong clinical skills, enthusiastic teaching and scholarship, excellent leadership, and an unwavering commitment to her patients. Her research on the attitudes and perceptions about patients highlighted the importance of cultural safety and has led to positive changes at Children’s Hospital. (Video Link)
  • Dr. Neil Craton with the Dr. Jack Armstrong Humanitarian Award. While his work in sports medicine, including with the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, is notable, it is Dr. Craton’s deep commitment to the patients of the Saul Sair Health Centre at Siloam Mission that has been recognized by his peers with this honour. The impact of his compassionate and non-judgmental care for the Siloam community is, quite simply, immeasurable. (Video Link)

While we couldn’t recognize these exceptional individuals with our traditional in-person gala, hundreds of physicians came together last night for a virtual celebration that truly honoured the amazing contributions of these seven exceptional physicians,” added Dr. Michael Boroditsky, Chair of the Doctors Manitoba Awards Committee. These individuals were nominated and selected by their peers to receive these awards, and I can say wholeheartedly that they are each examples of the very highest ideals of the medical profession.” 


Please click here for the full News Release