On May 19, we celebrated our 2022 award winners and the medical profession at the 2022 Doctors Manitoba Awards Gala. With 500 people in attendance, it was the biggest in-person event in our organization’s history. Dr. Michael Boroditsky emceed the evening and we were joined by many special guests, including CMA President, Dr. Katharine Smart who delivered remarks. We introduced our new Board President, Dr. Candace Bradshaw, who delivered a powerful and inspiring address about the burnout crisis in the profession right now, and moving towards a more equitable and inclusive profession. After recognizing each of the extraordinary award winners, the dance floor opened up with live music from the Big City All Star Band. 

This year’s award winners were celebrated and given the opportunity to say a few words. Their personal and professional stories were inspiring, leaving all in attendance in awe of their accomplishments and commitment to the profession.

The physicians we are recognizing this year with our awards have one thing in common — their devotion to improving the health of Manitobans,” said Dr. Kristjan Thompson, Doctors Manitoba Board Chair.​“Some of these extraordinary physicians played a key role in leading our province through the pandemic, and some found a way to advance other essential medical priorities despite the disruptions caused by COVID-19.”

The Doctors Manitoba awards are the highest honour bestowed upon physicians in the province. Award recipients are nominated by their physician peers and selected after a thorough evaluation by the Doctors Manitoba Awards Committee.

We are proud of the exceptional group of physicians we honoured this year,” said Dr. Michael Boroditsky, Chair of the Awards Committee.​“Through this difficult pandemic, it has been physicians like these that inspire excellence in the medical profession. We are truly fortunate to have them here in Manitoba.”