We have restructured our awards to better recognize and celebrate the accomplishments and achievements of physicians and medical learners in Manitoba.

Doctors Manitoba Awards

Distinguished Service Award – to recognize a long career of services to patients and the community that embodies the highest standards and ideals of the medical profession, and in the promotion of the art and science of medicine through teaching, writing and administration.

Physician of the Year Award – for an exceptional achievement or contribution to the practice of medicine and/​or to the community by a member of Doctors Manitoba.

Doctors Manitoba Medal of Excellence (new) – a new honour to recognize those who demonstrate excellence in the medical profession and whose actions are a source of inspiration for other physicians.

Resident of the Year – for excellence in academic and clinical training and noteworthy contributions to the resident’s home program/​specialty or residency program.

Dr. Jack Armstrong Humanitarian Award – to celebrate outstanding contributions by a member or former member of Doctors Manitoba in the service of humanity either within Canada or abroad. Awarded only when a suitable candidate is identified.

Award Eligibility and Selection Process

Current and past members of Doctors Manitoba can make a nomination, though nominations will also be considered from others. Nominees must be a resident of Manitoba. In any category, no award need be made if there is not a suitable candidate.

Awards Committee

The Doctors Manitoba Awards Committee is responsible for setting the eligibility criteria for our awards and overseeing the annual nomination and awards selection process. This includes Doctors Manitoba awards as well as recommending CMA Honorary Memberships. In addition, the Awards Committee may recommend nominees for CMA Special Awards and/​or other awards sponsored by external organizations.

CMA Honorary Membership

Physicians or non-physicians who have attained eminence in medicine, science or the humanities, or who have rendered significant services to the Canadian Medical Association, may be nominated as a CMA Honorary Member. Physician candidates must be CMA members in good standing who have attained the age of 65 years and have been CMA members for 10 years. Honorary members shall enjoy all the rights and privileges of the CMA for their lifetime but shall not be required to pay any CMA membership fee.

The selection of potential Manitoba candidates falls to the Doctors Manitoba Awards Committee. Its recommendations are put forward to the Doctors Manitoba Board of Directors for approval, and thereafter require CMA Board approval.

Nominations will open in fall 2021.

Last updated
March 20, 2021