2018 CMA Honorary Members

Doctors Manitoba is entitled to nominate four Honorary Member candidates each year for selection by the CMA Board of Directors. Recipients enjoy all the rights and privileges of CMA membership free for life. Physicians or non-physicians may be eligible if they have attained eminence in medicine, science or the humanities, or rendered significant services to the CMA. Physician nominees must be at least 65 years old, CMA members in good standing, and members for at least 10 years.

Dr. Terry Babick

Terry Babick has practiced medicine in Manitoba since completing his residency at the University of Manitoba in 1977. Dr. Babick has been involved with The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba (CPSM), since he initially served as the Complaints Consultant. He is presently the Deputy Registrar, who is responsible for Standards, Physician Health, Continuing Professional Development, and the Quality Assurance Program. He has also served as a member of the Executive Committee of the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada.

Dr. Babick’s passion is Ukrainian folk dance. He is the choreographer and founder of the ORLAN Ukrainian Folk Ensemble, which has travelled the world over the past 45 years. He has the unique honour of being the only individual who has ever received the President of Ukraine’s Medal for Merited Artistry – an award that is reserved only for citizens of Ukraine who have achieved significant status in the Arts. In addition, he has also received the Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal, and a similar award from the United Nations, for Volunteerism.

Dr. Babick and his wife, Patrusia, have two children – Dr. Andrea, who is his partner in family practice, and son John, who is a dental hygienist in Winnipeg.

Dr. Kevin Coates

Originally from Morris, MB Dr. Coates received degrees in Pharmacy & Medicine for the University of Manitoba. Subsequent to a Residency in Family Medicine (CCFP) he joined Clinique St-Boniface Clinic in 1982 and has been President since 1995. Dr. Coates is an attending physician at St. Boniface Hospital, St. Amant Centre and Tache Centre. Coates has provided long term continuing care for his patients and has always recognized the mutual relationship of trust and respect between the physician and patient.

Dr. Coates has been a lecturer at the University of Manitoba since 1982.  His administrative work also includes being Chair of the Family Medicine Credentials committee for the WRHA from 2000 to 2014.  Dr. Coates was a member of the Family Medicine Advisory Council at the WRHA from 1982 to 2014 and a present committee member of the WRHA My Health Team.

Dr. Coates previously volunteered on several committees including the United Way, is on many medical committees and was more recently President of the Winnipeg Executives Association. In the past, Dr. Coates was honoured with the  “Physician of the Year Award” for his contribution to the profession and community by Doctors Manitoba.

Dr. Savas Menticoglou

Dr. Savas Menticoglou is an Obstetrician, Perinatologist, and Assistant Professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, in the Section of Maternal Fetal Medicine at the Women’s Hospital in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

He was born, raised, and educated in Montreal. He completed his medical degree and residency in Ob/Gyn at McGill University. Following residency, Dr. Menticoglou did two years of general Ob/Gyn practice in rural New York State. It was during his time there that he developed an interest in perinatology and did his fellowship in Maternal-Fetal Medicine in Winnipeg, Manitoba, with Dr. Frank Manning.

His main interest is in labour floor obstetrics. He is held in high esteem by his colleagues for his extensive knowledge and expertise in his field.

Dr. Sunilkumar Patel

Dr. Patel, a native of Kampala, Uganda, started his general practice in Gimli, MB, in 1973, a year after graduating from medical school in England. He served as chief of staff at the local hospital and on numerous hospital committees, and also served as a lecturer and a preceptor for medical students in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Manitoba. He served as President of the Manitoba Medical Association in 1995/96 and was also a member of the CMA Board of Directors before being elected CMA President for 2003/04.

In addition to his Gimli clinic, he started a satellite clinic in nearby Riverton while utilizing his anesthesia and obstetric training at the Johnson Memorial Hospital in Gimli. In 1982, he trained in chemotherapy and introduced an outreach chemotherapy unit so that patients no longer had to make the hour-long trip to Winnipeg for treatment. He remains passionate in providing these services to his cancer patients to this day.