2017 CMA Honorary Members

Doctors Manitoba is entitled to nominate four Honorary Member candidates each year for selection by the CMA Board of Directors. Recipients enjoy all the rights and privileges of CMA membership free for life. Physicians or non-physicians may be eligible if they have attained eminence in medicine, science or the humanities, or rendered significant services to the CMA. Physician nominees must be at least 65 years old, CMA members in good standing, and members for at least 10 years.

Dr. Robert Kippen

Born in Winnipeg, Dr. Kippen received his MD from the University of Manitoba in 1971. He is a third generation graduate of the University of Manitoba, Faculty of Medicine.

After completing his residency in internal medicine at the University of Manitoba, Dr. Kippen completed a fellowship in Gastroenterology at the University of Chicago. In 1976, he became a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.  Dr. Kippen has worked as gastroenterologist at the Winnipeg Clinic since 1976, except for 3 years in Georgia in the mid 1990’s.

Dr. Kippen was president of Doctors Manitoba in 2013-14.  He represented the Grace Hospital District on the Doctors Manitoba Board of Directors from 2001 to 2015. In addition, he has been Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee, and a member of the Strategic Planning Task Force.

Dr. Kippen has also served as the President of the Grace General Hospital Medical Staff and Chairman of the Grace General Hospital, Department of Internal Medicine.

Dr. Kippen has held a university appointment at the University of Manitoba as an assistant professor in the Department of Internal Medicine/Gastroenterology since 2000.

He thanks his patients for their trust, his colleagues for their support  and Doctors Manitoba and the CMA for creating and maintaining an excellent practice environment, and especially his family for their support and tolerance these many years.

Dr. Don Klassen

Dr. Klassen completed a Bachelor of Science in 1970 and a teachers certificate in 1972 at the University of Manitoba.  Subsequently, he entered the medicine program at the University of Manitoba where he completed his medical degree in 1976 and training in family medicine and anasthesia from 1976 to 1978.

Dr. Klassen has been a dedicated family physician in Winkler and the Boundary Trails Health Centre since 1978.  His work at the hospital includes having privileges in family medicine, anesthesia, and emergency medicine.  In addition to his work in the above clinical areas, Dr. Klassen has been the medical director for Manitoba’s Office of Rural and Northern Health since 2002 and has been an Associate Professor at the University of Manitoba, Department of Family Medicine since 2003.

In 2010, Dr. Klassen was appointed Associate Head (Distributed Medical Education), Department of Family Medicine at the University of Manitoba.

Dr. Klassen has received a number of Awards and Honors for his medical work including being selected Manitoba Family Physician of the Year by the Manitoba College of Family Physicians, and was named Citizen of the Year by the City of Winkler in 2014.  In 2015, Dr. Klassen was awarded the Rural Long Service Award by the Society of Rural Physicians of Canada.

Dr. Klassen is married to Betty and they have two married sons, two wonderful daughters-in-law and 5 grandsons (Liam age 14, Asher 11, Adam 6, twins Graeme and Alex 4).

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg

Dr. Greenberg obtained her medical degree from McGill University in Montreal in 1974. She subsequent trained in Pediatrics and Medical Genetics and became a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in Pediatrics in 1979 and in Medical Genetics in 1992 and a Fellow of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists in 1982. Her academic career as a clinical and metabolic geneticist – her “first job”- began at Winnipeg Children’s Hospital and the Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, University of Manitoba in 1979 where she has worked ever since.

Over her career, Dr. Rockman- Greenberg served as Director of the Metabolic Service in the Program of Genetics and Metabolism, Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA) and from 2004 to 2014 she was Medical Director of the Child Health program, WRHA and Head of the Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, University of Manitoba. She currently is a clinician scientist in the Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba and has developed the Metabolic Disorders Clinical Trials Research team. Her research has focused on the identification of the molecular basis for genetic disorders that are over-represented in Manitoba’s unique populations.  Subsequently, in direct collaboration with community leaders, she and her colleagues have translated research discoveries into relevant patient care programs including the development of new diagnostic tests, expanded newborn screening programs and carrier testing initiatives.

Most recently Dr. Rockman-Greenberg has been the principal investigator for Canada of an industry- sponsored clinical trial of a new enzyme replacement therapy (ERT) drug for the treatment of the rare metabolic bone disorder called hypophosphatasia (HPP).  ERT has dramatically changed the natural history of the most severe forms of HPP from previously untreatable into treatable disorders. Over the course of her esteemed career, Dr. Rockman-Greenberg has received numerous awards including being named to the 2012 list of Canada’s Most Powerful Women: Top 100, in the Trailblazers and Trendsetters category, being inducted into Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2014 and receiving the Health Research Foundation Innovations Medicine Canada Medal of Honour in 2016.  She is the currently a clinical geneticist in the Program of Genetics and Metabolism, WRHA, a clinician scientist in the Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba and a Distinguished Professor in the Departments of Pediatrics and Child Health and Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, University of Manitoba.

Dr. Michael West

Dr. Michael West was raised in Winnipeg and graduated from Vincent Massey Collegiate. He received his MD and PhD, under the direction of Dr. Victor Havlicek and Henry Friesen, from the University of Manitoba and trained in neurosurgery with Drs. Dwight Parkinson, Charles Drake and Charles Wilson. He practised neurosurgery in Winnipeg from 1982 to 1994, in the USA from 1994 to 2000, and was recruited back to Winnipeg in 2000 as Professor and Head of Neurosurgery at the University of Manitoba and Winnipeg Regional Health Authority.

A Stereotactic Radiosurgery Program using the Gamma Knife was developed in Winnipeg under his direction in 2003; the first in Canada.  During his Headship Radiology and Neurosurgery worked together with the Health Sciences Foundation to develop the Centre for Surgical Innovation in the Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine that includes a neurosurgical operating room and an interventional radiology suite which incorporate intraprocedural MRI scanning. Dr. West initiated, with CancerCare Manitoba, the development of a Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy program to treat extracranial tumours.

Dr. West has served the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada as a Program Surveyor, member of the Examining Committee for Neurosurgery, member of the Accreditation Committee, and Chair of the Neurosurgery Specialty Committee.

Dr. West has won several teaching awards and authored or co-authored over 100 scientific publications and invited lectures.  Among his awards are the Award of Recognition from the Department of Surgery (University of Manitoba), the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition of contributions to the field of Neurosurgery, an award for Professionalism from the Manitoba Medical Students Association, and the 2014 Distinguished Service Award from Doctors Manitoba.