2015 CMA Honorary Members

Doctors Manitoba is entitled to nominate four Honorary Member candidates each year for selection by the CMA Board of Directors. Recipients enjoy all the rights and privileges of CMA membership free for life. Physicians or non-physicians may be eligible if they have attained eminence in medicine, science or the humanities, or rendered significant services to the CMA. Physician nominees must be at least 65 years old, CMA members in good standing, and members for at least 10 years.

Dr. Fred AokiDr. Fred Aoki

Dr. Aoki graduated from medical school at the University of Manitoba in 1966. He has held numerous academic appointments beginning as an Assistant Professor at McGill University in 1976. In 1978, he returned to his alma mater where he practises as an infectious disease specialist. Currently, Dr. Aoki is Professor of Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Pharmacology & Therapeutics.

Dr. Aoki’s work at the University of Manitoba has included being the Associate Head (Academic) for the Department of Medicine from 1993 to 1997 and the Assistant Dean of Admissions in the Faculty of Medicine for the years 2000 to 2009. Dr. Aoki has received numerous outstanding teacher awards during his tenure at the University of Manitoba.

Considered one of Canada’s experts on antiviral drugs, he contributed to the planning of antiviral strategies as a member of the Canadian Pandemic Planning Committee. Dr. Aoki’s publications include over 150 articles, many books and book chapter.

Dr. Derek FewerDr. Derek Fewer

Dr. Fewer received his pre-medical training at Loyola College in Montreal, receiving his BSc (Cum Laude). He then entered McGill University where he received his MD, CM. After internship at the Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal, he did his neurological surgery training at the Montreal Neurologic Institute and at the University of California in San Francisco. Dr. Fewer’s clinical subspecialties are spinal neurosurgery, pituitary surgery, pain and spasticity neurosurgery, neuro-oncology and gamma knife.

Dr. Fewer is a Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (Canada) and a Certificant of the American Board of Neurological Surgery. He is a current member and past president of the Canadian Neurosurgical Society. Dr. Fewer is also a past vice president of the Canadian Neurosciences Federation. Dr. Fewer is on Active Staff at the Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg and is an Associate Professor and former Program Director of the Section of Neurosurgery, Department of Surgery, University of Manitoba.

Dr. Fewer has won several teaching awards including PARIM – Educator of the Year and the MMSA Undergraduate Teaching Award. In 2013, he received the CMA Physician Misericordia Award, which recognizes a CMA member who has made notable strides in enhancing the wellbeing of colleagues, in particular, in times of crisis. Dr. Fewer was president of Doctors Manitoba in 1984/85 and in 1998, also received the Doctors Manitoba award for physician of the year. He is the long-time chairman of the Physicians at Risk committee and the Insurance Committee of Doctors Manitoba.

Dr. Henry FriesenDr. Henry Friesen

Born in Morden, Manitoba, Dr. Friesen attended the University of Manitoba and graduated in science and medicine in 1958. He trained as an endocrinologist at the New England Center Hospital, Boston, and was named a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 1963.

In 1965 he was appointed professor at McGill University and Royal Victoria Hospital in experimental medicine and was director of the Protein and Polypeptide Hormone Laboratory. In 1973 he moved to Winnipeg and the University of Manitoba where he served until 1991 as professor and head of the department of physiology, and professor of medicine.

Dr. Friesen published or co-authored more than 400 articles in such eminent medical journals as Endocrinology, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, New England Journal of Medicine, and the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

In the mid-1990s he chaired a working group that led to the creation of the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation, now endowed with $125 million by the federal government.

In 1999 his visionary leadership and tireless effort set the stage for the transformation of the Medical Research Council of Canada into a new agency. Dr. Friesen was appointed chair of the interim governing council whose task was to recommend a legislative mandate, governance, structure and program framework that would transform and modernize Canada’s health research enterprise into the Canadian Institutes of Health Research.

In 2000, he was appointed the founding chair of Genome Canada, the federal government’s lead corporation supporting genomics research in Canada and served in this role for five years.

Dr. Friesen is a Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of Manitoba, as well as a Senior Fellow at the Center for Advancement of Medicine. He and his wife, Joyce, have two children and two grandchildren and live in Winnipeg.

Dr. Jon GerrardDr. Jon Gerrard

Dr. Jon Gerrard holds a Doctor of Medicine degree from McGill University (1971), a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota (1976), and a Certificate in Pediatrics from the American Academy of Pediatrics (1976).

Dr. Gerrard worked at several prominent American institutions in the 1970s, and returned to Canada in 1980 to accept a position as pediatrician at the Winnipeg Children’s Hospital. He served as head of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology at this hospital from 1985 to 1992, and taught at the University of Manitoba from 1980 to 1993. Dr. Gerrard is an internationally recognized researcher and physician. He has a rich publication history that explores medicine, science and the environment. Dr. Gerrard led a multidisciplinary team in the care and treatment of children with cancer as head of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology at Children’s Hospital in Winnipeg.

Dr. Gerrard’s political career began when he was elected as the Member of Parliament for Portage-Interlake. While on Parliament Hill his positions as Secretary of State for Science and Technology (1993 – 1997) and Western Economic Diversification (1996 – 1997) provided him with opportunities to promote research, technology, economic growth, job opportunities and a better future for Canadians. Dr. Gerrard made the switch to provincial politics in September of 1999, when he was elected MLA for River Heights as he remains today. He was the leader of the Manitoba Liberal Party from 1998 to 2013.