Manitoba Schools Science Symposium

Over 400 grade 4 to 12 students attended the 48th annual Manitoba Schools Science Symposium (MSSS) at the Max Bell Centre on the University of Manitoba campus from Friday, April 26th to Sunday, April 28th, 2019. On Friday, the students participated in interactive and hands-on science activities designed to stimulate their interest in Science, Technology, Engineering, Art and Math (STEAM). On Saturday, the students presented their projects and received feedback from over 150 judges hailing from industry and academia. The winners were announced on Sunday during the Grand Awards Ceremony. Doctors Manitoba sponsored the awards for the Best Group and Individual projects at each grade level, as well as three of the MSSS representatives for the Canada-Wide Science Fair that was held in May, in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

Doctors Manitoba is proud to be a major sponsor of the 2019 Manitoba Schools Science Symposium. Doctors Manitoba sponsored the following categories. Congratulations to all the winners. The Awards were presented by Dr. Cory Baillie.

Best Overall Group Elementary
How to Kill Bad Bacteria at Home
Students: Sarah Mohamed and Roaa Yousif
School: Ecole Julie Riel

Best Overall Group Intermediate
Iodine Photochemistry
Students: Sean Ticsay and
Eunice Fabricante
School: Sisler High School
Best Overall Individual Elementary
What Colour is your House?
Students: Aiyaan Faisal
School: Samuel Burland

Best Overall Individual Intermediate
Improving Current Stock-Trading Infrastructure Using a
Peer-to-Peer Blockchain Network
Students: Sparsh Agrawal
School: Fort Richmond Collegiate
Can a Computer Diagnose Diabetes? Students: Angelo Giovanni Gaillet
School: Shaftsbury High School
Best Overall Group Junior
The Stain of My Existence
Students: Beta Hodgkinson and
Olivia Render
School: The Laureate Academy
Best Overall Group Senior
Absorbance of BIDIPY in Acidic Solutions
Students: Nhu Nguyen and Gabriel Cohen
School: Shaftsbury High School

CWSF & Best Overall Individual Junior
Master your Mind: Determining Cognitive Abilities of Individuals Through Associative Memory Games
Students: Annika Paliwal
School: Acadia Junior High
CWSF & Best Overall Individual Senior
Regulation of Periostin Gene Expression by Scleraxis
Students: Leah Schwartz
School: University of Winnipeg Collegiate