Resident Appreciation Reception

resident appreciation dinnerWhen the news was delivered to PARIM late in 2017 that the Resident Appreciation Dinner would no longer be supported by the WRHA, Residents were disappointed to see the event discontinued. Thankfully, the medical staff of SBGH, HSC and the University of Manitoba took on organizing a new event, a reception and dinner, hosted at the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, and the event took place on Friday, April 13, 2018. Those in attendance included Residents, Attending Physicians, staff from both PARIM and Doctors Manitoba, including the new CEO, Ms. Theresa Oswald, who gave the keynote address.

Residents are very aware of the difference that Educator Attendings make to their time in residency and were eager to celebrate the contributions made by several. The On-Site Educator of the Year was awarded to Dr. Cheryl ffrench, the Off-Site Educator of the Year was given to Dr. Sherief El-Gaaly, and the Staff Mentorship Award went to Dr. Michael Johnson. Each of the awards was presented by the Resident or Residents who nominated them.

In addition, three new awards were presented by the respective nominators to outstanding Residents. Dr. Janine Reid was awarded the Resident Professionalism Award, Dr. Colin Barber was given the Resident Mentorship Award, and the Resident Teaching award was given to Dr. Mihail Guranda.

The final award of the evening, Resident of the Year was presented by the medical staffs to Dr. Justin Cloutier.

The CMHR was a beautiful space in which to hold the event, and all guests were given the option of a tour after the dinner and awards. The evening was a wonderful opportunity for all to mingle with colleagues and celebrate accomplishments, and we are certainly hoping that it will prove to be the inauguration of a new tradition.